Staats Named Finalist For Ford Frick Award

Tampa Bay Rays television broadcaster Dewayne Staats is one of eight finalists for the 2020 Ford C. Frick Award, awarded by the Baseball Hall of Fame for "excellence in baseball broadcasting."

Staats has been the Rays television play-by-play voice since the team's inception, and has spent the last 43 years broadcasting baseball, including stints with the Houston Astros, Chicago Cubs and New York Yankees.

Other finalists include Boston Red Sox radio play by play man Joe Castiglione, Cubs telvision broadcaster Pat Hughes, Indians broadcaster Tom Hamilton, Cardinals broadcaster Mike Shannon, former White Sox broadcaster Ken Harrelson, former Red Sox television broadcaster Ned Martin, and Blue Jays French broadcaster Jacques Doucet.

The winner will be announced December 11 at the Winter Meetings in San Diego.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content

95.3 WDAE · Tampa Bay's Sports Radio
Listen Now on iHeartRadio