Tampa Bay Lightning Defeats Dallas Stars To Win The 2019-2020 Stanley Cup

Tampa Bay Lightning Ondrej Palat Brayden Point Nikita Kucherov

The Tampa Bay Lightning have won their second Stanley Cup in franchise history with a 2-0 win over the Western Conference Champion Dallas Stars in game six of the 2019-2020 Stanley Cup Final.A defensive masterpiece put on by head coach Jon Cooper’s squad only allowed a total of 22 shots on goal as Tampa Bay hoists the Stanley Cup for the first time since the 2003-2004 season.

Tampa Bay got the scoring underway in a slow and methodical way as the Bolts once again capitalized on the power play as Brayden Point found the back of the net for his fourteenth goal of the postseason putting Tampa Bay up 1-0.Point’s goal along with an assist from Nikita Kucherov on the tally together are the first teammates to each have a point streak of five or more games in a Stanley Cup Final since 1994, when Mark Messier and Alex Kovalev combined for the feat.

The Lightning came into the second with the lead and added to it as Plano, Texas native Blake Coleman took a cross ice pass from Cedric Paquette and buried it past Anton Khudobin giving the Bolts a 2-0 lead in the second.As for Dallas’ offensive attack, close to silent as they only amassed four shots on goal in each the first and second periods.

Andrei Vasilevskiy stopped all 22 shots by the Dallas Stars, and set a new NHL record for minutes played by a goaltender in a single playoff year, eclipsing the mark set by Miikka Kiprusoff in 2004.

The Tampa Bay Lightning will return home on Tuesday with several celebrations planned in the coming days, as head Jon Cooper earns his first Stanley Cup Championship in his second stint in the Final.

WDAE Stanley Cup Champions Tampa Bay Lightning

Photo Courtesy Of Getty Images

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content