Lightning Head Coach Jon Cooper Finishes Second In Jack Adams Award Voting

New Jersey Devils v Tampa Bay Lightning - Game Five

(via NHL Communications) - Barry Trotz of the New York Islanders has captured the Jack Adams Award as “the NHL coach adjudged to have contributed the most to his team’s success,” as selected by the NHL Broadcasters’ Association.

Trotz was named on 116 of the 127 ballots, including 58 first-place votes, for 430 voting points. Second-place Jon Cooper of the Tampa Bay Lightning received 48 first-place votes and 350 voting points, while third-place Craig Berube of the St. Louis Blues was the top selection on 10 ballots in collecting 116 points.

Trotz, who joined the Islanders in 2018-19 after leading the Washington Capitals to the Stanley Cup the previous season, helped his new team post a 23-point improvement over 2017-18 and yield a League-low 196 goals. The Islanders, who gave up 296 goals in 2017-18, became the first NHL team in a century to allow the fewest goals immediately following the season in which it yielded the most. Trotz finished the season fourth on the NHL’s all-time coaching wins list with 810.

A four-time Jack Adams Award finalist, Trotz captured the trophy for the second time and with his second club; his first came with Washington in 2015-16. He joins legendary Islanders bench boss Al Arbour (1978-79) as the second Jack Adams winner in franchise history.

(Photo Courtesy Of Getty Images)

2018-19 Jack Adams Award Voting



1. Barry Trotz, NYI



2. Jon Cooper, TBL



3. Craig Berube, STL



4. Bill Peters, CGY



5. Rod Brind’Amour, CAR



6. Rick Tocchet, ARI



7. Bruce Cassidy, BOS



8. Paul Maurice, WPG



9. Claude Julien, MTL



10. Pete DeBoer, SJS



Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content