Lightning Goaltender Andrei Vasilevskiy Wins Vezina Trophy

Lightning - Stamkos and Vasilevskiy

(via NHL Communications) - Andrei Vasilevskiy of the Tampa Bay Lightning has captured the Vezina Trophy, awarded to the “goalkeeper adjudged to be the best at his position,” as selected by NHL General Managers. Prior to 1981-82, the Vezina was awarded to the goaltender(s) whose team allowed the fewest goals during the regular season, the current criterion for the William M. Jennings Trophy.

Vasilevskiy was a near-unanimous winner, garnering 28 first-place votes from the 31 cast by NHL General Managers. His 146 voting points placed him ahead of second-place Ben Bishop of the Dallas Stars (64 points) and third-place Robin Lehner of the New York Islanders (17 points).

Vasilevskiy posted a League-leading 39 victories in 53 games to help the Lightning match an NHL record with 62 total wins and earn their first Presidents’ Trophy in franchise history. Vasilevskiy, who shared first place in the NHL and established a team record with 44 victories in 2017-18, won 18 of his final 21 starts this season to guide Tampa Bay to its historic finish. That included a 10-game winning streak from Feb. 9 – March 5 (1.76 GAA, .943 SV%, 2 SO), eclipsing his career high of nine set in 2017-18. Vasilevskiy lost consecutive starts just once in 2018-19 (Feb. 5-7), compiling a 13-0-1 record in games following a defeat (1.56 GAA, .952 SV%, 4 SO). Overall, he finished the season in the top 10 in the NHL in shutouts (t-4th; 6), save percentage (6th; .925) and goals-against average (9th; 2.40).

The 24-year-old Tyumen, Russia, native – who finished third in voting last season – is the first Vezina Trophy recipient in franchise history.

Photo Courtesy Of Getty Images

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content